Reconciliation: A Beneficial Exercise

January 21, 2010

I was reading the prayer book this morning that my spiritual director Jerry gave me and came across the following excerpt from Hugh Prather’s The Quiet Answer, which might be helpful for people struggling with forgiveness and reconciliation:

I release you from my hurt feelings. I free you from my reading of your motives. I withdraw my “justified” outrage and leave you clean and happy in my mind. In place of censure, I offer you all of God’s deep contentment and peace. I will perceive you singing, with a soft smile of freedom and a glow of rich satisfaction. I bless you brother. You are a shining member of the Family of God, and I will wait patiently for this truthful vision to come honestly to my mind.

If you want the book, you can buy it Used, with carbon-neutral shipping, for $3.98 at Better World Books.

May the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, guard your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus.

One Response to “Reconciliation: A Beneficial Exercise”


  1. I must say I’ve been searching for some good blog post about this topic . Searching in Bing I found this amazing blog post. After reading this article I’m glad to say that I have a good feeling I found just what I was searching for. I will make sure to save this website and check it out regularly . Thanks! 🙂


Leave a comment